8 replies [Last post]
Hing Kyzer's picture
Hing Kyzer
Offline
Joined: May 10 2009
Posts:

I just bring this up cause I was called out twice for a rule violation of marking my disc before my turn. For example, player x, Christain Bjortomt, and I are playing up a long fairway. CB's drive lands short of my drive. We walk up, I'm on the right side of the fairway, he is on the left, our shots are pretty close, we decide Brian shoots first, but since I'm standing at my disc I mark it. CB then gives me a warning for marking my disc before my turn.

Am I breaking the rules by marking my disc before my turn? Since the event where I was called out for this (oddly while enjoying the weather in a battle for dfl) I have seen every single player I play with do this. I've seen at least one player do this on every hole I have played since then. I'm leaving my take on the rule out for now to hear your opinions, I think it boils down to the "you have x amount of time to mark your lie and take your shot". The reason I was given for why the player called me out on this was that high wind could have came up and blown my disc off the ground and further away. Really. I simply did it for speed of play and felt it was out of consideration for everyone playing.

From the common sense perspective if I'm at my disc, waiting for 2 or 3 others to shoot, I don't see me gaining an advantage by marking my disc early. I guess I shoot pretty quick and rarely use all my time. I could see if you used all your time with each shot, the time it takes to mark your disc is discounted if you do this early.

turn it over

bobd's picture
bobd
Offline
Joined: Jan 8 2009
Posts:
seconded?

were you seconded on the violation? were you penalized?

not familiar with an actual rule against this, other than the time limit for taking your shot, which starts when you approach your disc.. but if it's not your turn, time wouldn't start, right?... I've also heard of something like a courtesy rule/guideline of not walking in between someones lie and the basket

I would say no, that does not violate any rules that Im aware of... if it does I'm very guilty of doing this as well. I would love for someone to direct me to the rule that states anything about this.

Occasionally I will mark my lie before someone "away" throws, to prevent the possibility of a stray shot hitting my disc, moving it or making slide or roll. i.e. disc on a hill, rock, stick or on the epic DiamondX ... dont know if this is legal, but no one has even said anything about it... or what about when 3 of 4 discs are BEHIND the basket, can I not mark my lie as we walk past the basket..??

the explanation is pretty hilarious .. "high wind could have came up and blown my disc off the ground and further away" thats some serious wind! I have never seen this happen b4.. it might be possible "I guess"

I'd say its just a case of grumpy old men.. Tongue Beer j/k.. so don't get your depends all in a bunch!

INNOVA, only the best. | #33745

Christian's picture
Christian
Offline
Joined: Mar 9 2009
Posts:
never heard of it.

never heard of that rule. i always do that.

D's picture
D
Offline
Joined: Mar 10 2009
Posts:
same

I had this conversation earlier this year with someone and came to the conclusion that, like what Deeds said, if someone wanted to pull the "you have 30-seconds to mark your lie and take your shot" and give a warning it would be hard to argue with it because if your disc was in a tough situation, moving up and marking your lie could give you additional time on the 30-second mark it and throw it rule. But COME ON!

Never take life too seriously, nobody ever gets out alive anyway.

doublecyc's picture
doublecyc
Offline
Joined: Mar 11 2009
Posts:
heh

The only trouble I can see with the early mark would be someone taking advantage and marking a better lie if it has not been viewed by others in the flight. But I always make sure at least someone in the flight has viewed my lie, usually cause I am looking in the thick, then I mark it or I don't. For me it is somewhat random. In my opinion, a few seconds Xtra "at best" is no big deal and purely anal.

Now I am watching you guys for run up fairway foot faults and early marker placements. Beer
No wonder why I can't beat you guys. Big smile

brianb's picture
brianb
Offline
Joined: Jan 20 2009
Posts:
a couple things

So I was bored this morning at work - very bored - so decided to re-read the PDGA rule book. Did I mention how bored I was? Anyway, in the example that HK brought up, the only rule that I could find that would even come close to applying would be a courtesy violation as it would be possible that by him walking ahead of the player who was out "could've" distracted the player who was out and/or caused the player who was out to have to wait on HK before making his shot and therefore - and this is a very big stretch - been a courtesy violation. I see this happen in almost every round that I play and have a hard time seeing it as a violation of any kind.

This is a great example of why everyone should carry a rule book and competition manual with them during a tournament. Then when a rule, or in this case a "non-rule" is called, you can pull out the book and ask the calling player to find and point out what rule he/she is calling you on.

As for the "wind could've blown it away" excuse - once a disc comes to rest, that is where the your lie will be for your next shot. Period. If your disc moves after it has come to rest, as determined by your group, i.e. another disc hitting it, a dog picking it up, the wind blowing it, an innocent bystander picks it up and hands it back to you thinking you lost it, etc... your group should come to a decision about where your lie was and you should play from that spot - with no penalty - per the unintentional interference rule.

Winterer's picture
Winterer
Offline
Joined: Mar 20 2009
Posts:
30 seconds

it is very clear (I think) that you have 30 seconds to throw once you step up to your mini, and this has nothing to do with when you mark the disc originally.

If my disc is right in front of yours on the green, I always try to mark my disc before you throw just so my big bright disc doesn't distract your putt in any way. I think it is good golf.

did anyone second the call either time?

Prudential Missoula, Buy, Sell, Rent...What do YOU need?

shags17's picture
shags17
Offline
Joined: Mar 12 2009
Posts:
Now here's the way I

Now here's the way I understand the whole 30 seconds part, and someone please correct me if I'm wrong as I am not very good at looking for a specific rule in the rules book. I have always thought that the 30 seconds started once you have addressed your lie. But if that is indeed the rule, then what exactly is "addressing a lie." Is it the moment that you mark the disc, or is it when you step up and actually get ready. Lets face it, someone could be standing right next to their disc, but the said person doesn't like the way the wind is blowing, so they say the time has not started because they have not stepped up the the disc. But the other side of that is if someone considers marking your lie actually addressing it, in which case the original point of this thread could be argued. I don't know about anybody else, but before I even get close to my disc I am already trying to see alleys, figure out if I have to throw forehand/backhand/utility shot, or if I want to mark it or not. I personally don't see any advantage to someone marking their disc before I throw if they are on the complete other side of the fairway, as I don't see how they can get any more advantage over me because they marked their disc early...

Man, you gotta love how vague the PDGA rules book is Shock Big smile

PDGA# 33809

Hing Kyzer's picture
Hing Kyzer
Offline
Joined: May 10 2009
Posts:
I just bring it up now if I

I just bring it up now if I mark early and make sure everyone is cool with it. We all know how tournament play is slow compared to every day play and I continue to see marking early if you have the chance as a way to keep the speed of play up. I wasn't called on it twice but did get my warning. My favorite part of it is being called for it while in DFL just goofing around and having a great time (and being very courteous of the players still in the hunt). The more I think of it this would be a fun one to post on the PDGA site. I feel if your called on this you should be able to slap the hat off the person calling you ask them to take up ball golf.

turn it over